

NEWS RELEASE

CENTRAL TEXAS Regional Mobility Authority For Immediate Release: June 8, 2009 Contact: Steve Pustelnyk 512-996-9778 (office) 512-680-9997 (cell)

New Chairman Joins Mobility Authority Board

(Austin, Texas) – A new Chairman is now leading the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority. Travis County resident Ray Wilkerson, former Chairman of the Lower Colorado River Authority Board, was recently appointed by Governor Rick Perry to serve a two year term as Chairman of the Mobility Authority Board. Wilkerson takes over for Bob Tesch, a Williamson County resident who led the agency since its founding in 2002.

"Chairman Wilkerson is a highly respected regional leader who will bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the Board," said Mike Heiligenstein, Executive Director of the Mobility Authority. "His impressive record of regional service will be of tremendous value as we work to solve the transportation funding crisis facing our region."

Wilkerson is president of Ray Wilkerson Companies, Inc., a commercial real estate development company. He has served on the board of several financial institutions, where he gained considerable knowledge in finance issues. His experience has led to numerous requests to testify as an expert witness and to speak for several national associations. He has also been a guest lecturer for graduate courses at The University of Texas McCombs School of Business. Wilkerson also has considerable experience with other business entities. Wilkerson earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from The University of Texas at Austin in 1971.

Wilkerson comes to the Mobility Authority Board with an impressive record of community service. In 2001, he was appointed to the Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA) Board and was appointed by Governor Perry to serve as Chairman from 2004 - 2008.

Under his leadership the LCRA completed improvements to the flood management infrastructure and promoted water conservation through the Water IQ campaign. Wilkerson also supported development of the Redbud Center. In January 2009, he was honored by the LCRA for his leadership and stewardship of the Colorado River through dedication of The Wilkerson Center for Colorado River Education.

Wilkerson also served as a member and Vice Chairman of the Texas Rehabilitation Commission from 1988 - 2001. He is a board member of the Heartgift Foundation, a charity that provides lifesaving heart surgery to disadvantaged children from around the world. He is also a founding member of the Tributary League, which supports the Colorado River Foundation.

The Mobility Authority Board is comprised of seven local residents who are responsible for setting policies, identifying priority projects and ensuring the agency is operated in an efficient and effective manner. The Mobility Authority's other board members include Lowell Lebermann, Jr., Nikelle Meade, and Henry Gilmore representing Travis County and James Mills, David Singleton and Robert Bennett, Jr., representing Williamson County. Mobility Authority Board members are active community volunteers and leaders who are appointed to serve two-year terms and serve without compensation.

About the Mobility Authority

The Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority is a local, independent government agency created to improve the regional transportation system. Our mission is to implement innovative solutions that reduce congestion and create transportation choices that enhance quality of life and economic vitality. The Mobility Authority is the state's first Regional Mobility Authority, created in January 2003 to serve Travis and Williamson counties. The Mobility Authority currently operates the 183A toll road in Williamson County and is currently working on 5 additional projects with a nearly \$2 billion value.

- end -