## **NEWS RELEASE**



For Immediate Release: October 28, 2011 Contact: Steve Pustelnyk 512-996-9778 (office) 512-680-9997 (cell)

## **Finalists Named for Green Mobility Challenge**

(Austin, Texas) – Some of the most creative minds in landscape architecture, roadway engineering and environmental design have been named as finalists in the Green Mobility Challenge. The Green Mobility Challenge is an innovative design competition aimed at identifying better ways to build, operate and maintain our region's transportation system with an emphasis on two especially important projects, the Oak Hill Expressway (US 290 West) and the Manchaca Expressway (SH 45 SW). Six teams representing 11 companies and two universities have been named as finalists and will present their proposals to a panel of community leaders at the finals event on November 15, 2011 at the LCRA Redbud Center.

"It was exciting to see all the great ideas presented by the various groups," says Jon Geiselbrecht, a Green Mobility Challenge Technical Judge. "For example, some teams suggested innovative ways we could divert roadway runoff to keep it out of nearby caves and the Edwards Aquifer."

Each finalist team will make a seven minute presentation at the finals event. Community leaders serving on the judging panel include:

- Texas Senator Kirk Watson
- Janice Brown, Texas FHWA Division Administrator
- Judge Bert Cobb, Hays County
- Council Member Chris Riley, City of Austin
- Rob Spillar, City of Austin Transportation Director
- Carlos Lopez, P.E. TxDOT Austin District Engineer

- Ray Wilkerson, Mobility Authority Chairman
- Mike Heiligenstein, Mobility Authority Executive Director
- Mark Marek, P.E., TxDOT Director of the Design Division and Interim Director of the Environmental Affairs Division

The Green Mobility Challenge Finals Event is open to the public, but limited seating is available. Tickets are \$50.00 and can be purchased online at GreenMobilityChallenge.com. Proceeds from the Green Mobility Challenge will be used to fund sustainability scholarships at a number of universities in Texas.

The six teams selected to compete in the finals event include the following organizations:

- AECOM
- Klotz & Associates
- J. Robert Anderson FASLA Landscape Architects
- ACI Consulting
- Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems
- Michael Baker Corporation
- CCA Landscape Architects
- LJA Engineering
- Coleman & Associates
- Blanton & Associates
- Jacobs
- Texas A&M University
- Rice University

## **About the Mobility Authority**

The Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority is a local, independent government agency created to improve the regional transportation system. Our mission is to implement innovative solutions that reduce congestion and create transportation choices that enhance quality of life and economic vitality. The Mobility Authority is the state's first Regional Mobility Authority, created in October 2002 to serve Travis and Williamson counties. The Mobility Authority operates the 183A toll road in Williamson County and is currently working to extend the 183A

project and construct the US 290 East (Manor Expressway) project.